RAF Museum Academic Prizes

For the second year running the RAF Museum is sponsoring a series of academic prizes to reward high-quality research in the field of air power studies broadly defined. The prizes consist of an award for the best undergraduate and Masters prize respectively and a bursary to support a PhD candidate in the final year of their studies. For the purpose of each prize, ‘air power studies’ is to be understood in its broadest sense, encompassing not only the history of air warfare broadly defined, but also related fields such as archaeology, international relations, strategic studies, law and ethics, and museology. The prizes are not confined to works focused on the RAF but includes those which help tell the Service’s story. Details for each prize can be found in the descriptors below.

Applications are open from 1 July 2017 to 1 October 2017, and the museum will make a decision towards the end of the year. If you are interested in entering or know anyone who is eligible to enter, then please consider applying for the prize.

The Royal Air Force Museum Undergraduate Prize in Air Power Studies
The Royal Air Force Museum Masters Prize in Air Power Studies
The Royal Air Force Museum PhD Bursary in Air Power Studies

EHS First Monograph Prize in Economic and/or Social History

The Economic History Society offers a prize of £1,000, to be awarded biennially, for the best first monograph in Economic and/or Social History, usually published within 10 years of the author having been awarded a PhD. Only monographs published in English and published during 2016 and 2017 will be eligible for the 2018 prize.

A copy of the author’s full CV and three copies of the book under consideration must be submitted with the application. The books cannot be returned to the author.

The winner of the First Monograph Prize will be announced at the annual conference.

Nominations, from any member of the Economic History Society, should be sent to the administrative secretary, Maureen Galbraith. The deadline for applications is: 30 September 2017. Books published by 31 December 2017 will be eligible for consideration, however, the nomination must be received by the 30 September deadline.

Books should please be mailed to:

Maureen Galbraith
Economic History Society
Dept of Economic & Social History
University of Glasgow
Lilybank House
G12 8RT

Contact Info: Maureen Galbraith
Contact Email: ehsocsec@arts.gla.ac.uk
Further information here.

ICMH André Corvisier Prize for PhD theses on Military History

The International Commission of Military History awards the “André Corvisier Prize for PhD theses on Military History”, named after the distinguished French scholar who was for ten years President of ICMH and then President of Honour.

For the 2017 edition, the prize will be awarded for a PhD thesis discussed and approved in 2015 and 2016 in a recognized University. The amount of the Prize is fixed at €3.000, plus a maximum of €1.500 to cover the recipient’s expenses for participation at the award ceremony during the XLIII ICMH Congress in Douala.

Deadline: 31 March 2017.

Download further information: André Corvisier Prize-Prix André Corvisier